Beat is powered by Vocal creators. You support A. Michael Uhlmann by reading, sharing and tipping stories... more

Beat is powered by Vocal.
Vocal is a platform that provides storytelling tools and engaged communities for writers, musicians, filmmakers, podcasters, and other creators to get discovered and fund their creativity.

How does Vocal work?
Creators share their stories on Vocal’s communities. In return, creators earn money when they are tipped and when their stories are read.

How do I join Vocal?
Vocal welcomes creators of all shapes and sizes. Join for free and start creating.

To learn more about Vocal, visit our resources.

Show less

Rhonda & Daryle Go 'Above And Beyond' - Duet Album "American Grandstand" Out In July

Classic Country Music

Late August last year, "Queen of Bluegrass" Rhonda Vincent announced on her Facebook page that she's recording a duet album with 90's traditionalist Daryle Singletary and posted the above picture of them both in the recording studio.

Singletary, a mid 90's traditionalist, who had Rhonda singing background on his debut album on Giant and later on his indie releases was all exicited “If you love traditional country music, and remember songs originally sung by well-known duet partners like George Jones and Tammy Wynette, Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn, and Merle Haggard and Bonnie Owens, this is a must-have CD that we are extremely excited about.”

Rhonda, who branched out from Bluegrass to traditional Country Music before, like on her 2014 album "Only Me" praised Singletary as one of the best singer in this generation of country music and went on to praise him even more: “It’s so fun to sing with someone who challenges me as a singer. The songs were given great thought, along with one that was totally unexpected. It’s one of the best projects I’ve ever been part of. I am so proud of this recording, and I cannot wait for the world to hear our wonderful creation, American Grandstand.”

Now about a month (release date is July 7th) before "American Grandstand" is hitting the stores, Daryle and Rhonda are heavily promoting it during CMA week (formerly Fan Fair) in Nashville with several shows. Being one of 20 acts not to miss according to music magazine "Rolling Stone," one of the shows they performed together at, was the "Music City Roots - Live From the Factory" Show hosted by Jim Lauderdale on June 7th, where the opening track of "American Grandstand," the Harlan Howard penned classic "Above And Beyond" was then shared to YouTube. First recorded by Wynn Stewart as a single in 1960, then by Buck Owens later that year and then Rodney Crowell in the 80's, who celebrated his fifth number one song with the classic, it's nice to see that timeless song done as a duet.

"Above And Beyond" Rhonda Vincent & Daryle Singletary - Music City Roots - Live From The Factory (Franklin, TN)

Besides "Above And Beyond" and their current single "One," the list below reveals the full track list of "American Grandstand." The title track is a new song actually written by Rhonda Vincent as part of their collaboration.

American Grandstand Track Listing:

  1. Above and Beyond
  2. One
  3. After The Fire Is Gone
  4. American Grandstand
  5. Slowly But Surely
  6. As We Kiss Our World Goodbye
  7. Can’t Live Life
  8. Golden Ring
  9. We Must Have Been Out of Our Minds
  10. Louisiana Woman Mississippi Man
  11. A Picture of Me Without You
  12. Up This Hill and Down

If you would like to pre-order the "American Grandstand" and get an immediate download of their current single "One," you can click here.

For more information about Music City Roots - Live From the Factory in Franklin, Tennessee, for a schedule of upcoming artists performing on the show and a direct link to see a streaming video, visit their official website - you may also find information on their facebook page.

Sources: YouTube;; Webster PR;;;

Now Reading
Rhonda & Daryle Go 'Above And Beyond' - Duet Album "American Grandstand" Out In July
Read Next
Miley Cyrus Proves Social Savvy